Yves Gingras

Scientific Director, OST
Full professor, Department of history, Université du Québec à Montréal
Chairholder, Canada Research Chair in History and Sociology of Science

Yves Gingras is scientific director of the Observatoire des sciences et des technologies that he co-founded in 1997. He is in charge, among other things, of relations with OST's associate researchers and of the scientific revision of publications. Professor Gingras is also involved as scientific consultant for research services carried out for our partners.
Yves Gingras is a full professor in the Department of History at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), a researcher at the Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur la science et la technologie (CIRST) and an holder of the Canada Research Chair in the History and Sociology of Science. Recognized expert in science and technology policy in Canada, he served as editor of the journal Scientia Canadensis from 1995 to 2000. He has published extensively in French and in English in the fields of history, research assessment and the sociology of science. Since Fall 1997, Professor Gingras provides a popular monthly chronicle which is part of  Les Années lumière, a radio program devoted to science aired across Canada by Radio-Canada. He has also participated on the television news programs Le Point and Le Téléjournal. He holds a master’s in physics from the University Laval and a doctorate in history and sociopolitics of science at the Université de Montréal.
Mr. Gingras has written several publications on the development of science, technology and innovation. He is a prolific researcher and maintains an important network of national and international contacts in science and technology. He was a member of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) from 1999 to 2005 and president of its evaluation committee. An outstanding communicator and scholar, Mr. Gingras was awarded the Ivan Slade Prize by the British Society for the History of Science in October 2001. In 2005, he received the Gérard-Parizeau Award in recognition for his exceptional work and social commitment to the opening of the vast and difficult field of science history. In 2007, the Association francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS) awarded him the prix Jacques-Rousseau. This award has been given to scientists whose accomplishments have gone beyond their respective disciplines or areas of specialization, and who have successfully bridged the gap between different fields.

This content has been updated on May 15th, 2017 at 14 h 12 min.

Yves Gingras

Directeur scientifique, OST
Professeur titulaire, Département d'histoire, Université du Québec à Montréal
Titulaire, Chaire de recherche du Canada en histoire et sociologie des sciences

Yves Gingras est directeur scientifique de l’Observatoire des sciences et des technologies qu’il a cofondé en 1997. À ce titre, il est le premier responsable des relations avec les chercheurs associés et de la révision scientifique des publications. Il agit également comme consultant scientifique dans le cadre des mandats réalisés pour les partenaires de l’OST.

Yves Gingras est professeur au Département d’histoire de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), chercheur au Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur la science et la technologie et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en histoire et sociologie des sciences. Spécialiste reconnu en matière de politiques en science et en technologie au Canada, il a occupé de 1995 à 2000 le poste de rédacteur en chef de la revue Scientia Canadensis. Ses nombreuses publications en français et en anglais portent sur l’histoire, l’évaluation de la recherche et la sociologie des sciences. M. Gingras est chroniqueur régulier à l’émission  Les Années lumière. Il a également participé aux émissions Le Point et Le Téléjournal du réseau français de la Société Radio-Canada. Il est détenteur d’une maîtrise en physique de l’Université Laval et d’un doctorat en histoire et en sociopolitique des sciences de l’Université de Montréal.

Yves Gingras a effectué des recherches et participé à de nombreuses publications portant sur le développement scientifique, technologique et l’innovation. Chercheur prolifique, il maintient un réseau de contacts très importants dans les milieux de la S&T tant canadiens qu’internationaux. Il a été membre du Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines (CRSH) de 1999 à 2005 et président de son comité d’évaluation. C’est un communicateur hors pair et un vulgarisateur très apprécié révélé en particulier par le prix Ivan Slade de la British Society for the History of Science, qu’il a obtenu en octobre 2001. En 2005, il s’est mérité le prix Gérard-Parizeau « en reconnaissance de son œuvre exceptionnelle et de son engagement social dans l’ouverture du vaste et difficile champ de l’histoire des sciences ». En 2007, il a reçu le prix Jacques-Rousseau de l’ACFAS, lequel est octroyé à un scientifique dont les réalisations ont largement dépassé son domaine de spécialisation et qui a établi des ponts novateurs entre différentes disciplines.

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 15 mai 2017 à 14 h 12 min.